Skip to content

Lady Skater Dress

February 15, 2015

I made the Lady Skater dress by Kitschy Coo. I have resisted this pattern for ages, didn’t think it would suit me, would I wear it, you know all the arguments. Two issues with this pattern, one is that I hate PDF’s, all that printing and sticking, using a whole roll of sellotape, no, not for me. The second issue is that I have never sewn knits and it looked too difficult, the neck band on any knit T shirt patterns has always put me off. I didn’t think I would be able to make the neck look good enough that I would wear it.

After buying an overlocker a few weeks ago I decided that it was time to try my hand at sewing with knits, and this pattern was the one I chose. There are loads of this dress on the web, all absolutely amazing but would I be able to match them.

I don’t like the process of sticking PDF patterns together, it seems a waste of time to me to me but after overcoming my aversion to sellotape just got it done. You choose a size according to your high bust and high waist measurement and being a typical English pear shape I measured a 3 for the bodice and a 5 for the skirt but the pattern has you blend the sizes which worked out fine.

You are advised to make a muslin but I didn’t bother, I cut the top and basted it together to see if it fitted, if it had been wildly out I had enough fabric to cut the bodice again but it wasn’t necessary. Amazingly the dress fitted without any adjustments, the only thing I omitted was the bands on the arms. I’m so pleased with the result, the neck band was a dream to sew, the instructions are absolutely spot on. 2015-02-15 lady skater and on a roll t shirt 002 2015-02-15 lady skater and on a roll t shirt 001See for yourself, can’t wait to wear it, just waiting for my twin needle to arrive in the post so I can finish the hems. Already trawled the net earlier and ordered more Ponte knit in a dark green to make another.

The fabric I used is a medium weight grey Ponte Roma jersey.

Andrea x

From → Sewing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

